AKIS Facebook  AKIS Instagram   AKIS contact us   AKIS contact us

International Award

International Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award is a world renowned student leadership qualification, available to all British Curriculum Year 10-13, and CBSE Grade 8-12 students, regardless of their physical ability, skills and interests. It equips young people for life and work by instilling qualities such as teamwork, communication, independence and commitment.

“The IA programme has really enhanced our ability to work as a team: communication, map reading, tent making and so on. It is also great fun as you can be independent but you still have to be responsible.”

– Alessandra Agcaolli, British Curriculum Year 12.

Award Framework

Level 1 Level 2 Level 3
Age 14+ Age 15+ Age 16+

To achieve the award, students must complete the “Four Pillars of the International Award”:

  1. Service. Encourages young people to volunteer their time to, and understand the benefits of this service to their community.
  2. Skills. This encourages the development of personal interests, practical and social skills.
  3. Physical Recreation. Encourages young people to participate in sport and other physical recreation for the improvement of health and fitness.
  4. Adventurous Journey. Encourages a sense of adventure whilst undertaking a team journey. Participants plan, train, and undertake a journey with a define purpose in an unfamiliar environment.

Students begin the award in June and have one academic year to complete each level.

Useful Link: International Award Website

Accreditation Logos